AHL Aligment Changes for 2011-12

Tuesday, July 5, 2011
Photo from theahl.com

The AHL will be switching from two divisions per conference to three and with that will adopt the NHL's playoff seeding, where the top team in each division will be seeded 1-3 and the remaining highest point total teams will be seeded 4-8. Your Wilkes-Barre Scranton Penguins remain in the East Division.

After the jump, a look at the new divisions.

Here's the new divisions:

Eastern Conference                                         Western Conference

Atlantic Division                                               North Division
Manchester Monarchs                                        Grand Rapids Griffins
Portland Pirates                                                   Hamilton Bulldogs
Providence Bruins                                               Lake Erie Monster
St. John's                                                             Rochester Americans
Worcester Sharks                                                Toronto Marlies 

Northeast Division                                            Midwest Division

Adirondack Phantoms                                        Charlotte Checkers
Albany Devils                                                     Chicago Wolves
Bridgeport Sound Tigers                                     Milwaukee Admirals
Connecticut Whale                                              Peoria Rivermen
Springfield Falcons                                             Rockford Icehogs

East Division                                                      West Division
Binghamton Senators                                          Abbotsford Heat
Hershey Bears                                                     Houston Aeros
Norfolk Admirals                                                 Oklahoma City Barons
Syracuse Crunch                                                  San Antonio Rampage
WBS PENGUINS                                                 Texas Stars

This blurb about the new playoff structure from the AHL's website:
The format for the 2012 Calder Cup Playoffs was also approved by the Board of Governors. Eight teams in each conference will qualify for the postseason, with the three division winners earning the top three seeds and the next five best teams in order of regular-season points seeded fourth through eighth.

The conference quarterfinals will be best-of-five series; the conference semifinals, conference finals and Calder Cup Finals will be best-of-seven series. Teams will be re-ordered after the first round so that the highest-remaining seed plays the lowest-remaining seed.
What are your thoughts on the new AHL? Comment below and let's start a discussion.


Post a Comment