AHL Phantoms/Penguins Added To New 'Atlantic Division' for 2015-16 Season

Thursday, May 14, 2015
The new division alignment for the AHL next season via the league's official website.
The American Hockey League (AHL) announced Tuesday the approval of new divisions for the AHL's 2015-16 season. In a move similar to the NHL, the AHL will also now have four divisions - Atlantic and North Divisons in the Eastern Conference and Central and Pacific Divisions in the Western Conference.

A deeper look at the similarities/differences the new divisions present for AHL fans after the jump.

AHL Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division - Manchester, Portland, Providence, St. John's & Worcester
Northeast Division - Albany, Bridgeport, Hartford, Springfield & Syracuse
East Division - Binghamton, Hershey, Lehigh Valley, Norfolk & W-B/Scranton

Atlantic Division - Bridgeport, Hartford, Hershey, Lehigh Valley, Portland, Providence, Springfield & W-B/Scranton
North Division - Albany, Binghamton, Rochester, St. John's, Syracuse, Toronto & Utica
  • Gone are the Manchester Monarchs (Kings), Norfolk Admirals (Ducks) and Worcester Sharks (Sharks) - all three have re-located to California for the 2015-16 season and will play in the newly formed Pacific Division in the Western Conference (see below).
  • The Rochester Americans, Toronto Marlies and Utica Comets move from the West to the East and will play in the North Division with the other three teams from the state of New York - Albany, Binghamton and Syracuse - in addition to the St. John's IceCaps, who will be the Montreal Canadiens top minor league affiliate starting in 2015-16. 
  • Portland and Providence - the remaining teams from last year's Atlantic Division - are joined by the three Pennsylvania teams - Hershey (Capitals), Lehigh Valley (Flyers) & W-B/Scranton (Penguins) - as well as the non-New York teams from last year's Northeast Division - Bridgeport (Islanders), Hartford (Rangers) and Springfield (Coyotes).
AHL Western Conference

North Division - Adirondack, Hamilton, Rochester, Toronto & Utica
Midwest Division - Chicago, Grand Rapids, Lake Erie, Milwaukee & Rockford
West Division - Charlotte, Iowa, Oklahoma City, San Antonio & Texas

Central Division - Charlotte, Chicago, Grand Rapids, Lake Erie, Iowa, Manitoba, Milwaukee & Rockford
Pacific - Bakersfield, Ontario, San Antonio, San Diego, San Jose, Stockton & Texas
  • Gone are the Adirondack Flames, Oklahoma City Barons and Hamilton Bulldogs - the first two were part of the five-team relocation to California, while Montreal moved their AHL affiliate from Hamilton to St John's as the Winnipeg Jets moved their prospects out of St. John's to a newly formed AHL team that will play in Winnipeg in 2015-16 - the Manitoba Moose.
  • The Five California teams - Bakersfield (Oilers), Ontario (Kings), San Diego (Ducks), San Jose (Sharks) and Stockton (Flames) - will play in the newly formed Pacific Division along with the two teams from the state of Texas  - San Antonio (Avalanche) and Texas (Stars).
  • The remaining teams in the conference from the West and MidWest Divisions - Charlotte (Hurricanes), Chicago (Blues), Grand Rapids (Red Wings), Lake Erie (Blue Jackets), Iowa (Wild), Milwaukee (Predators) and Rockford (Blackhawks) - form the new Central Division along with the new Manitoba Moose (Jets).


Post a Comment