Pittsburgh Trims Training Camp Roster

Tuesday, September 17, 2013
This from Pittsburgh, as the Penguins announce they've re-assigned 11 players today:

Goaltenders Matt Murray and Tristian Jarry and forward Matia Marcantuoni were sent back to their respective junior teams.

Forwards Paul Thompson, Tom Kostopoulos, Brian Gibbons & Dominik Uher and defensemen Clark Seymour, Reid McNeill, Nick D'Agostino were sent to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins.

Also, tryout forward Jean-Sebastien Dea was signed to a three year NHL entry level contract that will begin next season when he turns pro. Dea also was re-assigned by his new team back to juniors as well. I spoke with Dea this morning and here's what he had to say about signing with the Penguins:
Im so excited to be a part of that great organization. I learned a lot during the week and I can't wait to be back here in Pittsburgh.
Check back to our most recent post for Dea's journey from junior hockey to this summer's cycle of Penguins camps.

The NHL roster is down to 44 and split into two groups now. From the Penguins team, here's the two rosters:

Group 1

Goaltenders: Marc-Andre Fleury and Jeff Zatkoff

Defensemen (8): Matt Niskanen, Rob Scuderi, Scott Harrington, Brian Dumoulin, Brendan Mikkelson, Robert Bortuzzo, Derrick Pouliot and Philip Samuelsson

Forwards (13): Chuck Kobasew, Tanner Glass, Dustin Jeffrey, James Neal, Beau Bennett, Andrew Ebbett,    PL3, Zach Sill, Bobby Farnham, Adam Payerl, Joe Vitale, Tom Kuhnhackl and Evgeni Malkin.

Group 2

Goaltenders (2): Tomas Vokoun and Adam Hartzell

Defensemen (6): Olli Maatta, Deryk Engelland, Paul Martin, Brooks Orpik, Kris Letang, Simon Despres

Forwards (12): Pascal Dupuis, Chris Kunitz, Brendan Sutter, Matt D'Agostino, Chris Conner, Craig Adams, Steve MacIntyre, Jussi Jokinen, Harry Zolnierczyk, Nick Drazenovic, Jayson Megna and Sidney Crosby


Post a Comment