Penalty Parade: #WBSPens Defeat Hershey Bears 3-1

Saturday, November 16, 2013
The Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins defeated the Hershey Bears for the fourth time this season, winning 3-1 and thwarting the Bears offensive attack after allowing an early first period goal. Jeff Deslauriers picked up his 9th win of the season, stopping 21 of 22 shots.

The Bears got off to a good start in the first period, taking a 1-0 lead 1:55 into the game when Derek Whitmore finished off a tic-tac-toe passing play past Jeff Deslauriers to put the Bears in front on the first shot of the hockey game.

From there, referees Darcy Burchell and Pierre Lambert became very active, whistling seven minor penalties in less than a 13 minute span.

Brian Gibbons stole a puck while shorthanded and on his breakaway went top shelf on David Leggio to tie the game at 1-1. Gibbons then took a penalty on the next shift, but Deslauriers and the Pens' penalty killers were able to get the job done.

After five-on-three power plays for each team went by the wayside, Chris Conner fed Nick Drazenovic and Drazenovic made no mistake, deking Leggio out of his way and giving the Penguins a 2-1 lead late in the first period.

No goals were scored but the penalties continued to be handed out in the second period. In all, the refs handed out 13 power plays.

The Penguins continued to keep the Bears offensively minded players in check in the third period, and added a late insurance goal when Jayson Megna's shot found the back of the net. Brian Gibbons picked up the lone assist on the goal with 1:17 left in regulation that ended the Bears hopes for a late comeback. 


Nick D'Agostino and Adam Payerl, who sat out last night in Syracuse, returned to the WBS lineup tonight for Reid McNeill and Paul Thompson, respectively. McNeill (upper body) left in the third period of last night's game after blocking a shot. He didn't return to that game and didn't take the warmup skate today either. Thompson has often been a healthy scratch at forward so far this season. 


Zolnierczyk - Gibbons - Conner
Kuhnhackl - Ebbett - Kostopoulos
Uher - Drazenovic - Megna 
Farnham - Carman - Payerl 

Despres - Samuelsson
Harrington - Dumoulin
Mikkelson - D'Agostino


Post a Comment